Browsing Tag

gypsy & the cat


The 1975, Florrie, Midi Matilda & More: 34 Fresh Tracks!

February 22, 2016

The_1975_Somebody_Else_skyelyfeI usually can’t put the words “happy” and “Monday” in the same sentence, but when I can start my week with 34 brand new songs that I’m actually fond of, I can’t complain, right?

This week’s New Music Monday brings you fresh material from The 1975 (absolutely loving “Somebody Else”), Florrie, Midi Matilda, Satin Jackets, Miike Snow, Gypsy & the Cat and so many more!

There are not many full-length albums in this week’s roundup, but Wild Nothing just released their 11-track “Life of Pause,” which is every bit their signature dream-pop sound. We also have Foxes‘ 12-track “All I Need,” which includes the perfect blend of emotional ballads and sexy uplifting tracks.

Click the playlist below for all of the new music, which also includes HEARTWATCH, Cardiknox, FKA Twigs and more!



Shaun Frank, Satin Jackets, Penguin Prison & 13 More Artists: New Music Monday, 5.11.15

May 11, 2015

ShaunFrankSome of my favorites (Satin Jackets, Penguin Prison, Pompeya) are making the start to the week a little brighter with contributions to my latest New Music Monday playlist.

While they seem to be regulars on my weekly lists, I am newly digging Toronto-based producer Shaun Frank‘s groovy synth melodies in his latest track “Time,” which – like the title – takes you back to a different era!

To take things down a notch, give a listen Aquilo‘s soulful “Put Me Down,” Avivaa‘s “PRiSM,” or Henry Green‘s “Barcelona.”

And then you’ve got chart-topper Ciara back with the sexy debut single from her latest album Jackie, called “Dance Like We’re Making Love.”

Check out the playlist below, which also includes fresh tracks by Gypsy & the Cat, Parade of Lights, Make the Girl Dance, Made in Heights and more!



Penguin Prison, Salt Ashes, Laura Welsh, Gypsy & the Cat & 13 More Artists: New Music Monday, 3.16.15

March 16, 2015

penguin-prison-single-coverIt’s a big week for music!

Aside from the 17 new tracks I am about to present to you below, SXSW kicks off its music portion tomorrow in Austin, Texas, while many people are still recovering from San Diego’s CRSSD fest this past weekend, which had the most amazing lineup I’ve seen since September’s TBD Fest.

Regardless of whether you’re headed to or from a festival, or simply sitting behind a computer at work, there’s no inopportune time for new tunes!

Penguin Prison is back with another signature catchy electro-pop track. “Try to Lose” will certainly get your week off on the right foot!

On that note, Eden xo‘s “The Weekend” is that bubblegum pop you want to hate, but yes, like gum, it just sticks. It’s the fun, upbeat song that will help you forget it’s only Monday.

I’m also totally into Salt Ashes‘ “Raided.” It’s sexy, deep and dark, but yet with an upbeat melody all the way through. And if dark electro is your thing, Aurix‘s slow, dubstep-y “Breathe” is also on the list.

If you’re a fan of Milo Greene like I am, I’m pretty sure you’ll enjoy Laura Welsh‘s “Breathe Me In.” She just released her full-length “Soft Control” album, filled with some mellower tracks more reminiscent of Florence Welch. Not only do the two share a similar last name and sound, they also both have red hair (for what it’s worth). Music soul sisters in the making?

For the rap/hip-hop fan, there’s Oddisee‘s “That’s Love,” and Mike WiLL Made-It‘s “Drinks on Us.” Both artists will perform at SXSW.

I’m thrilled that Melbourne duo Gypsy & the Cat is back after a several-year hiatus! Their brand new synth-pop “Lost Control” is without a doubt the perfect comeback track and an upbeat change from the dreamier, folkier-sounding songs on their full-length 2012 album “The Late Blue.”

Click below for the full list of new tracks this week, which also includes PeaceTreaty, Frankie, San Fermin, Monarchy and more!